Updated for 2021
Arizona has one of the most lenient knife laws among the 50 states in the U.S.. There are very few restrictions on the purchase, ownership, sale, and carrying of knives within the state. The laws allow you to carry any type of knife, concealed or open, within the state of Arizona.
However, the state isn’t completely lawless when it comes to knives. There are a few laws that regulate the possession and use of knives within its borders, so it is imperative that you understand them in order to keep yourself away from trouble in the future.
This guide aims at providing you insights into the knife laws of Arizona, and to help clear up any confusion you may have regarding them. So, let’s dig into it a little deeper.
What knives are Explicitly Illegal in Arizona
In Arizona, there are no restrictions on carrying any type of knife, whether open carry or concealed, as long as the carrier is over 21 years old. For people under 21 years of age, pocket knives are allowed to be carried legally.
In Arizona, a knife does not fall under the category of a deadly weapon. By definition, a deadly weapon is an object designed for a lethal purpose. This category includes firearms, but excludes knives.
A knife is not classified as a weapon unless the purpose of its use is unlawful. Individuals can use knives in Arizona in any way as long as they do not indulge in criminal activity. If an individual uses a knife to commit any criminal activity, the knife can then be categorized as a deadly weapon.
Knife Size Regulations in Arizona
Arizona does not impose any restriction on the blade length, closure type, or the number of edges of a knife. Citizens are allowed to carry a knife regardless of its size. The only limitation, as we mentioned, is that people under 21 years of age can carry pocket knives only.
Local Municipality Knife Laws in Arizona
The Arizona laws regulating the possession and use of knives cover all of the cities located in Arizona. ARS 13-3120 imposes knife laws regulations in Arizona state. It forbids local governments from restricting the transportation, possession, or use of knives.
Before the state law was updated in 2011, and the amendment of ARS-3120, municipal laws related to possession and use of knives differed across cities. As a result, it caused confusion among the citizens and created problems for them.
Now, the amendment has preempted all local and municipal laws and permitted uniform knife laws across the entire state of Arizona.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Karambits Legal in Arizona?
Karambits are legal in Arizona. The state of Arizona permits carrying any length or type of knife, open or concealed, if the person is over 21 years of age.
Are Throwing Knives Legal in Arizona?
Throwing knives or any other type of knife are legal to carry, open or concealed, within the state of Arizona. However, under Arizona law, it is illegal for a person under 21 years to carry a knife other than a pocket knife.
Are Balisongs Legal in Arizona?
Balisongs knives are legal to carry, open or concealed, in Arizona, given the person is over 21 years of age. Bear in mind that it is illegal to keep information from the police officer when you are asked whether you are carrying a concealed knife other than a pocket knife.
Are Swords Legal in Arizona?
Yes, it is legal for anyone over the age of 21 to carry any knife type, concealed or open, including swords. There are no knife blade length restrictions in Arizona as long as the person is 21 years or more.
Is it Legal to Carry a Knife on School Grounds or College Campuses?
Under Arizona state law, you cannot bring any type of knife on to school grounds or college campuses, this includes pocket knives. All types of knives are prohibited in schools.
Can a Minor Carry a Knife in Arizona
Arizona state law imposes restrictions on minors below the age of 21 in terms of carrying knives. A person under 21 years old is prohibited from carrying a knife larger than a pocket knife in a concealed way.
However, there is no age limit on carrying a pocket knife in Arizona. A pocket knife is not considered a deadly weapon under ARS-13-3102. A folding knife having a blade length less than 4-inches meets the requirements of a “pocket knife” so citizens of any age can legally carry a pocket knife.
Return to All American State Knife Laws