Updated for 2021
Knowing about the knife laws in a particular state is of utmost importance to keep yourself out of trouble. Some states may have knife-friendly rules, while some may have rigid laws. The state of Connecticut has somewhat tricky knife laws that make it even more important for you to understand them.
This guide will take you through the laws governing knives in Connecticut. Reading through the article will eliminate any confusion that you may have regarding knife laws in Connecticut.
What knives are Explicitly Illegal in Connecticut
In Connecticut, there are no knives that are explicitly illegal to own, however, there are limitations to carrying knives.
Under state law, certain knives are classified as dangerous weapons and are illegal to carry in a vehicle or on an individual. Keep in mind, possession of these weapons is not illegal at one’s home.
Dangerous weapons include:
- Dirk knives
- Switch knives
- An automatic knife with a blade length of more than one-and-a-half inches
- Any knife with a blade length of more than four inches
As per section 53-206(a), an individual illegally carrying a dangerous weapon is punishable by up to three years of imprisonment, a fine up to $500, or both. Under section 29-38, carrying a weapon illegally in a vehicle will penalize you with a fine of up to $1000, jail for up to five years, or both.
Knife Size Regulations in Connecticut
The state law restricts carrying automatic or switchblade knives with a blade length of more than one-and-a-half inches. Other knives with a blade longer than four inches are illegal to carry.
Local Municipality Knife Laws in Connecticut
Since there is no statewide preemption of knife laws in Connecticut, some cities may have their own restrictions imposed on specific knives.
Automatic Knife Laws
According to Connecticut law, an individual can carry an automatic knife given the blade is no longer than 1 ½ inch. A switch knife or automatic knife with a blade length of more than 1 ½ inches is strictly prohibited within the state of Connecticut.
A stiletto, or any knife with the edged portion of the blade that is 4-inches or more in length, is illegal to carry. However, it is legal to carry a knife with a blade longer than 4-inches if used for hunting, fishing, or lawful trapping activities.
Carrying of Weapons in Vehicle
Anyone who carries an illegal weapon in their vehicle can be imprisoned for up to five years or fined up to $1000, or both. As per section 29-38, the term ‘weapon’ includes a dirk knife, switch knife, or any knife that has an automatic spring release, releasing the blade of more than 1 ½ inches in length.
These laws do not apply to anyone in the military going to and from duty, moving from the old house to the new house, transporting the knife for a sale or trade show, getting it refurbished, or having a license for fishing, trapping, or hunting.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Karambits Legal in Connecticut?
In Connecticut, you are allowed to own any knife, which includes karambit as well. You may carry any type of knife, apart from stilettos and automatic knives, with a blade length of less than 4-inches.
Are Throwing Knives Legal in Connecticut?
Throwing knives are legal to own and keep in your house in Connecticut. However, there are restrictions on certain knives you can carry in the state of Connecticut, and throwing knives is one of them.
You cannot carry throwing knives/stars, nightsticks, and batons. According to section 53-206, it is prohibited to carry a metal or brass knife, dirk and blackjack knife, and knuckles.
Are Balisongs Legal in Connecticut?
Balisong is a type of knife generally used for self-defense and is legal to own in Connecticut. Under Connecticut state law, a knife with a blade length of more than 4-inches is illegal to carry.
Are Swords Legal in Connecticut?
Yes, it is legal to possess a sword in Connecticut as long as they are kept at the owner’s home. The law restricts the carrying of knives beyond one’s home.
Is it Legal to Carry a Knife on School Grounds or College Campuses?
According to section 53a-217b, possessing a weapon on school grounds is a Class D felony. It is prohibited to carry a deadly weapon in any public or private primary or secondary school.
Can a Minor Carry a Knife in Connecticut?
The Connecticut law does not specify rules for minors carrying and owning knives. However, minors under 18 years possessing and carrying knives can be troublesome. Therefore, it is better to stay cautious.
Return to All American State Knife Laws