Updated for 2021
Kansas has more lenient laws concerning the carrying of weapons and knives. After the recent revisions made to its knife regulations, it has become one of the most knife-friendly states in America.
No matter how knife-friendly a state is though, it is imperative to understand the laws in order to minimize the chances of any prosecution charge in the future.
If you are unaware of the knife laws in Kansas, this guide will provide you all the important details regarding the laws to ensure your safety as a citizen.
What Knives are Explicitly Illegal in Kansas
Throwing stars and ballistic knives are illegal to own and carry in Kansas. The K.S.A. section 21-6302 (a) declares selling, buying, transferring, and using a ballistic knife and throwing star illegal in Kansas. Anyone who violates the law is punishable by imprisonment for two years or a fine up to $600.
Knife Size Regulations in Kansas
Formerly, an individual could carry a knife with a blade length less than 4 inches, but the revised regulations do not impose any restrictions on blade length. Now, a person may carry any knife, open or concealed, regardless of the length of the blade.
Local Municipality Knife Laws in Kansas
The Kansas state law on carrying and possessing a knife preempts all local ordinances. It makes the rules and regulations regarding knives uniform statewide. Knife-owners traveling to a different city within the state do not have to worry about the local laws of a city or county.
The knife laws work in favor of the citizens of Kansas, allowing them to enjoy the same rights wherever they travel within the state.
Concealed And Open Carry Knife Law
Kansas allows its citizens to buy, own, carry and sell knives that are legal under the law. The government of the state permits all the citizens to carry knives, openly or concealed, within the boundaries of the state.
No restrictions apply to carrying any type of knife or blade. However, the law restricts you from carrying a knife in to some places such as schools and government buildings.
As per K.S.A. section 21-6302 (a), you may not conceal carry blackjack, billy, sand-club, slung-shot, throwing stars, bludgeon, and metal knuckles.
According to K.S.A. section 21-6301, anyone who violates the law and carries illegal knives and dangerous weapons concealed may face imprisonment for one year or a fine up to $600.
Limitations On Convicted Felons
The Kansas law imposes restrictions on a convicted felon regarding ownership and carrying knives. As per section 21-6304 (Criminal possession of a firearm by a convicted felon), uses the word “firearm” in the caption, but the limitations also apply to a knife. In section 21-6304, a knife is defined as: a dagger, dirk, stiletto, switchblade, straight-edged razor, or any other dangerous or deadly cutting instrument of like character.
So, under Kansas law, it is unlawful for a convicted felon to own a firearm, dirk, switchblade, or stiletto.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Karambits Legal in Kansas?
Yes, it is legal to use Karambits in Kansas. The state law allows concealed or open carry of knives, except for a ballistic knife and a throwing star.
Are Throwing Knives Legal in Kansas?
Throwing knives are illegal in Kansas. According to Kansas law, manufacturing, selling, buying, transferring, and possessing a throwing star is unlawful within the state.
Are Balisongs Legal in Kansas?
Balisongs, or butterfly knives, are legal to use in Kansas. It is lawful to own and carry any type of knife regardless of its length.
Are Swords Legal in Kansas?
An individual is allowed to carry swords, sword canes, and machetes, openly or concealed, as these instruments are not classified as weapons anymore.
Is it Legal to Carry a Knife on School Grounds or College Campuses?
As per K.S.A. section 72-89a02, it is illegal to carry a knife, blade, firearm, or any other dangerous weapon on school grounds or any educational institute. Breaching the law may result in imprisonment for one year or a penalty of $500. The guards are only allowed to carry the knives for the protection of students and staff of the educational institute.
In addition to schools, other places where the Kansas law restricts the carrying of knives include government buildings, public places, private properties, and public transport.
Can a Minor Carry a Knife in Kansas?
Kansas does not have any age restrictions on carrying a knife. You can carry any legal knife, openly or concealed, except for throwing stars and ballistic knives.
Return to All American State Knife Laws